Officers/Committees

OFFICERS

Helton_WebPresident:

Sabina A. Helton
Buchalter Nemer PC
(213) 891-0700
shelton@buchalter.com

 

 

 

 

Furuya_Mark_JABAPresident-Elect:

Mark J. Furuya
Clark Construction Group, LLC
(714) 427-2823
mark.furuya@clarkconstruction.com

 

 

 

 

HataVice President:

Harumi Hata
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
(213) 270-9620
hhata@seyfarth.com

 

 

 

 

 

Vice President:
Ryan Iwasaka
Greenberg Glusker Fields Claman & Machtinger LLP
(310) 201-7405
riwasaka@greenberglusker.com

 

Treasurer:

Kira N. Teshima
Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP
(213) 617-4234
kteshima@sheppardmullin.com

M. Madokoro PicSecretary:

Mike H. Madokoro
Bowman & Brooke LLP
(310) 380-6519
mike.madokoro@bowmanbrooke.com

 

 

 

 

 

ken_photo2015-cImmediate Past President (ex officio):

Kenneth Tanaka
Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ
(213) 488-3754
kentanaka@us.mufg.jp

 

 

BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Marty Chao
Zenlayer
(909) 718-3558
marty.chao@zenlayer.com

Catherine Endo Chuck
McBirney & Chuck
(213) 688-9100
cchuck@mcbirneychuck.com

Alex H. Fukui
California Bank & Trust
(213) 593-3192
alex.fukui@calbt.com

Jennifer Y. Ishiguro
Gateway One Lending & Finance, LLC
(714) 696-4557
Jennifer.Ishiguro@gatewayonelending.com

Sidney K. Kanazawa
McGuire Woods, LLP
(310) 315-8238
skanazawa@mcguirewoods.com

Colin Kawaguchi
Nevers, Palazzo, Packard, Wildermuth & Wynner, PC
(818) 879-9700
ckawaguchi@npwlaw.com

Emily Kuwahara
Crowell & Moring LLP
(213) 443-5556
ekuwahara@crowell.com

Jeff Maloney
Santa Monica Mountains Conservancy
(323) 221-8900
jkmaloney@gmail.com

Audra Mori
Perkins Coie LLP
(310) 788-3238
AMori@perkinscoie.com


Susan Roe
Office of the Public Defender
(213) 974-2907
sroe@pubdef.lacounty.gov

Mike Suzuki
Office of the Public Defender
(562) 491-6376
msuzuki@pubdef.lacounty.gov

Diane Tan
Tan & Sakiyama
(323) 620-7751
dmltan@aol.com

Staci Tomita
Shumener Odson & Oh LLP
(213) 344-4200
stomita@soollp.com

Steven K. Yoda
Walzer Melcher LLP
(818) 591-3700
sky@walzermelcher.com

Dennis T. Yokoyama
Southwestern Law School
(213) 738-6746
dyokoyama@swlaw.edu

Stephanie Yonekura
Hogan Lovells
(310) 785-4668
stephanie.yonekura@hoganlovells.com

Mark K. Yoshida
Asian Americans Advancing Justice | LA
(213) 977-7500 ext. 247
myoshida@advancingjustice-la.org

ADVISORY COUNCIL

The Honorable Fred J. Fujioka
Alternate Public Defender Janice Y. Fukai
The Honorable Ernest M. Hiroshige
The Honorable Jon M. Mayeda
Mr. Gilbert N. Nishimura
Ms. Rose Ochi
The Honorable Vincent H. Okamoto
The Honorable Kathryn Doi Todd

COMMITTEES/GROUPS

If you are interested in becoming involved with a JABA committee, please contact the committee chair. We welcome your involvement!

Business Lawyers Group

BLG offers programs of interest to business lawyers, including receptions with elected and appointed officials.

Eric Y. Nishizawa – en@nishizawalawoffices.com
Kenneth Tanaka – kentanaka@us.mufg.jp

Community Education Committee

The Community Education Committee sponsors and coordinates law days and legal clinics for the community, and partners with other community service organizations to provide legal education. The CEC also publishes the JABA Attorneys List which includes members who volunteer to be on the list for public distribution. (JABA does not endorse any of the attorneys listed.)

Sabina Helton – shelton@buchalter.com
Mark Yoshida – myoshida@advancingjustice-la.org

Corporate Affairs

The Corporate Affairs committee handles corporate governance issues, including the annual meeting, elections, changes to articles of incorporation, and the bylaws.

Catherine Endo Chuck- cchuck@mcbirneychuck.com

JABA Eats

JABA Eats (formerly known as the Foodie Group) is a way for JABA members to meet in a casual, social setting while trying out the delicious culinary options available in Southern California. The Group tries all types of cuisines and meets about once every two months. Suggestions are always welcome! If you are interested in planning or organizing, please contact:

Marty Chao – marty.chao@zenlayer.com
Mark J. Furuya – mark.furuya@clarkconstruction.com
Melissa Kurata – melissakurata@gmail.com

Judicial/Non-Judicial Appointments

The Judicial Appointments Committee sponsors a mentorship program matching attorneys interested in judicial appointments with members of the bench and evaluates candidates for judicial and non-judicial appointments. If you are a current member interested in becoming a judge or commissioner, or a current member of the judiciary who would like to become a mentor, please contact:

Mike Madokoro – mike.madokoro@bowmanbrooke.com

Law Students Committee

The Law Students Committee provide s support to law student associations at area schools in co-sponsoring conferences, seminars, and job fairs.

Susan Roe – sroe@pubdef.lacounty.gov

Membership

The membership committee maintains the JABA membership list. If you would like to join JABA or renew your membership, please download the membership application.

Ryan Iwasaka – riwasaka@greenberglusker.com

Programs

The Programs committee plans a variety of programs for JABA members, including networking receptions, the annual Marco Polo night, Dodgers night, MCLE seminars, and annual holiday party/toy drive for non-profit organizations.

Alex Fukui – alex.fukui@calbt.com

Pro Bono

The Pro Bono committee coordinates volunteer opportunities for JABA attorneys to provide pro bono legal assistance to underserved members of the Asian Pacific American and other communities.

Alex Fukui – alex.fukui@calbt.com

Running Group

The JABA Running Club is a social group for runners, joggers, and walkers of all ages. We are a social group that strives to promote JABA’s presence and service to the Japanese community and community at large. Moreover, our frequent meet-up events and charity runs allow JABA members, friends, and family members to connect and stay active.

Gary Dote – jabarunning@gmail.com or check us out at www.jabarunning.blogspot.com

The Shin Issei/Japanese Lawyers Group

The Shin Issei/Japanese Lawyers Group committee works to foster closer relationships between JABA and Shin Issei and Japanese attorneys practicing in Los Angeles. It also provides for networking opportunities among these groups.

Harumi Hata – hhata@seyfarth.com

Media

The Media committee maintains the JABA website, Facebook page, and LinkedIn account. If you would like your event added to the JABA calendar, have photos to share, or general inquiries please contact the administrators at:

Media Committee – media@jabaonline.org

For members interested in joining the Media committee, please reach out to the individuals below:

Marty Chao – marty.chao@zenlayer.com
Mark J. Furuya – mark.furuya@clarkconstruction.com
Staci Tomita – stomita@soollp.com

Young Lawyers Group

The JABA Young Lawyers Group provides younger JABA members with networking opportunities and mentors who will provide career guidance. YLG offers a mentorship program which pairs up younger members with more experienced JABA attorneys.

Emily Kuwahara – ekuwahara@crowell.com
Kira Teshima – kteshima@sheppardmullin.com